You are here:Teachers > Credits



Limerick Education Centre gratefully acknowledges the partnership of the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht (DAHG) in the development and funding of the production of this resource. In particular gratitude is expressed to Brian Duffy, Chief Archaeologist, Terry Allen and Paul Walsh of the National Monuments Service.

This resource was piloted in schools in the Limerick region and also reviewed by both educationalists and archaeologists. Limerick Education Centre wishes to thank all of the many people who contributed to the development of the project and in particular would like to express deep gratitude to Mary Sleeman, Cork County Archaeologist, Matt Kelleher, Archaeologist, DAHG, Denis Power, Archaeologist, DAHG who were responsible for the design, development and management of the entire project from its inception.

Grateful thanks are expressed to all of the following whose work, in no small way, has led to this excellent resource:

Karin Bacon, Marino Institute of Education, formerly Primary Curriculum Support Service,
Joan Crowley O’Sullivan, National Coordinator, Special Education Support Service, formerly Primary
Curriculum Support Service, Niamh Mannion, Primary Curriculum Support Service, Valerie O’Dowd, Assistant National Coordinator, Primary Curriculum Support Service and other members of the Regional Curriculum Support Service (PCSP) for their invaluable advice and encouragement.
Rhoda Cronin, Project Illustrator,
Patricia McNamara, Graphic Artist,
James E. Doherty, Copy Editor,
Dermot Chadwick, Reviewer.

Administrative Support

The Chairperson, Management Committee and all the staff at Limerick Education Centre, in particularÚna McNamara, Centre Secretary and Breda Tuohy, Housekeeper.
Teacher Focus Group Members:
Scoil Dean Cussen, Bruff, Co. Limerick; Tom Bulfin, Fionnuala Lyne, Joan O' Connor, Catherine Cribbin.
Herbertstown National School, Co.Limerick; Mary Coffey, Betty Carmody.
Galvone National School, Limerick City; Ruth Madigan.
Crecora National School, Co. Limerick; Tom Prendergast, Frances Barrett, Carmel Humphreys.
Lough Gur National School, Co. Limerick; Carmel Gleeson, Eileen Wixted.
Bilboa National School, Co. Limerick; Ciarán Sheehan.
The Pupils of the following Pilot Schools:
Scoil Dean Cussen, Bruff, Co. Limerick
Herberstown National School, Kilmallock, Co. Limerick
Galvone National School, Galvone, Limerick
Crecora National School, Crecora, Patrickswell, Co. Limerick
Lough Gur National School, Holycross, Co. Limerick.
Bilboa National School, Bilboa, Cappamore, Co. Limerick